Adventures in Toronto Part one

Toronto summers often feel like your at the gates of hell and someone forgot to turn off the humidity. This is the reality for those of use who love blizzards of winter nothing can fix this but but cold drink, cold snacks and deep fried pork ears with crispy fries. Hey listen it’s hot but it ain’t all salad.

I went out today to venture on my bike to find this bubble tea place that I had heard so much about only to discover it was close even when it said it be open! I will return to this place and speak its name another day!

I cursed the sky and time it self but ll was not lost because after all this is adventure and just down the way were a bunch of street food vendors in shipping containers. I decided to grab a bite and sit on the patio because if you don’t know this Canadians love patio weather. Toronto citizens love it some much we give up what little road space with have so we can have a bite outside. We should share the road with annoying cyclists like myself.

Now I use to dine at a Filipino buffet when I lived in Halifax and I loved it the old grandmother often informed me I didn’t eat enough while both being to fat. I miss her dearly.

Today I dined at Kanto by Tita Flips. I loved the menu the second I saw it, bits of pork fried, blood pudding and cold drinks! Bonus everything is in shipping containers because in my mind I could get a collection of small items and have a little meal. Today though I got the sisig fries, sisig is a brilliant meal someone came up with not too waste the head of the pig. Chopping up all the bites up from the head into tiny bits and frying it. Hailed as labor of love this dish is said to be and they are right! I once tried to butcher a pigs head in class and of boy it is no hill of a task! Don’t worry it was a butcher class. This Sisig came with fries and tasty mayo.

Oh man when it came it was heavy and crispy and tasty and fatty. The heat from the sun didn’t even bother me cause I was in chewy hog heaven. I will die young that is for sure if I keep eating like this.

Now the advantage of all these shipping container vendors I could walk over to the Thai stall and grab me a cold Ice Thai tea

Heck after that a stones throw a kengiston market over to the Toronto popcorn company in Kensington market for some garlic popcorn for Shoe!

I needed another drink because it was hot hot hot! I found my way into World Tea House and got the thickest biggest mango fruit tea I’ve  ever had. I don’t care if rent sucks in this city and getting around on the TTC can sucks I love it. I feel nothing but luck and joy for being able to grow up in a city where so many different people from some many different walks of life have come together. In many ways it feels like a glimpse into a far bigger adventure that just calls out to you.

If you like to enjoy these street vendors head on down to 707 Dundas St West.

IMG_20190722_223100_790.jpgIMG_20190722_223100_794.jpgIMG_20190722_223100_793.jpg

 

Leave a comment