DUCK IN A CAN!!!!!!!!!!

Well if you haven’t guess I had duck in a can and I had it atAu Pied De Cochon.

Au Pied De Cochon is a gem within a already beautiful city of Montreal. Walking along the brick path shaded with some trees the August summer air is mild. It’s nearing 5:30 Pm where Shoe and I have made our revisionist at Pied De Cochon.

The room is cozy warm but also vibrate and fast as the staff are slinging out dishes and shouting out orders but it’s still quiet enough for Shoe and I to have a conversation.

Now the staff here are the special forces of wait staff. There quick, on top of matters, plate is empty it’s gone. Your water empty it is filled, no one came by when I had a hunk of food in mouth to ask ” Hows the meal going”. Lets be honest we’ve all thought it that the wait staff comes over when we have food in our mouth to ask how it’s going so we can’t really answer. Maybe it’s just me always having food in my mouth.

Shoe and I looked down the menu and it was full of delight. Tarts, foie gras poutines and my oh my they had Duck in a Can. The only problem at Au Pied de Cochon is what do you pick! My suggestion go with someone so they can help split the load. Shoe and I started off with some drinks she got a mojito which was damn so good. She never had one and this was a great way to start, a good drink should never be over powering in my mind it needs balance now the gin and tonic with maple I had was solid till the last sip where the maple had pooled at the bottom giving me a blast of sugar and my taste buds were overwhelmed.

The first item we got and my favorite to devour was the tomato tart! It arrives a sizzling fluffy tart with a cheesy centre and tomatoes. Three different kinds cheeses melted into one creamy, fatty pool with the acid of the tomatoes with warm pastry to brings each bite together. Such joy!

The second was the foie gras duck poutine, ok buckle up because what a ride. The foie gras slowly melts rolling down dancing with thick gravy coating crispy fries, stab at one with your fork and make sure that it’s loaded with gravy and foie gras because each bite is a ride of joy. Now grab some duck with it’s crispy outside and soft warm centre you sit back and think I don’t care if I die early I’d eat this every day.

The third plate arrives and yes I got the Duck in a CAN! Now this sounds silly getting canned food at a fancy restaurant but hear me out! Now a little back round the owner of this restaurant and head Chef, owns their own duck farm. They can everything themselves. A duck breast with veggies and 100 grams of foie gras is canned and then cooked in boiling water for 30 minutes. Now they show up at your table open it and you watch it slide out of can  plating it self perfectly. Which leads me to think they carefully place everything within these can so it unfolds just like this. Now Shoe went right for the foie gras now I went for the breast. I took my first bite and I honestly thought I had just taken a bite of a steak. It was so tender and juicy but my lord the fat on this duck I could sit there and chew and hit after hit to my taste buds of pure joy. I let Shoe have most of the foie gras because secret time I really don’t enjoy it or truffles.

We finished the meal off with a creme brulee now I’ve had creme brulee before but this tasted like campfree to me. I asked Shoe if she felt the same but she said I was nuts but damn that yummy gooey paste in side was the perfect way to finish off the evening.

The hardest part was the 200 dollar bill we got at the end but it was worth it.

I also discovered a great new joy, now when you go into bathrooms in some restaurant its sometimes a horror show but not at Au Pied du Cochon so clean perfect lighting easy on the eyes and I got to try a bidet. I will say nothing more but please if you ever have the chance try a bidet.

If you do happen to find yourself in Montreal please please please book your self a table and be ready to die because you will be sent to heaven by a dish it self.

Au Pied Du Cochon is located at  536 Avenue Duluth E, Montréal, QC H2L 1A9

20190803_173432.jpg

20190803_173625.jpg

20190803_174229.jpg

20190803_174654.jpg

20190803_180745.jpg

20190803_180816.jpg

20190803_180742.jpg

20190803_181115.jpg

20190803_183811.jpg

20190803_173247.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment